2021 winning poster designed by Sophia J. Zhao ’23 of Pauli Murray College.


For more than half a century, student bibliophiles have been receiving prizes for the quality of their book collections, thanks to the generosity of Yale alumnus Adrian Van Sinderen (Class of 1910). In 1957 Mr. Van Sinderen established two prizes, awarding $1,000 to seniors and $700 to sophomores, in order to encourage undergraduates to collect books, build libraries of their own, and read for pleasure and learning. In 2002 a poster competition was established. A $500 prize is awarded to the winning designer of the annual poster announcing the book collecting competition.

Book Collecting

Senior Prize Winner
Al Larriva-Latt
Branford College, 2021
Towards Liberation: Intersectional Queer Literature

Sophomore Prize Winner
Seyma Kaya
Jonathan Edwards College, 2023
Tales of a City—Istanbul, Fiction and Nonfiction